The city of Algoma is one of the first nine to be named a Snowmobile Friendly Community by the Association of Wisconsin Snowmobile Clubs (AWSC).

From the AWSC news release:

The announcement came during the AWSC’s 50th annual convention March 22-23 in Green Bay. Over 700 conferees representing all 72 Wisconsin counties were on-hand to congratulate the first Awardees of the new Snowmobile Friendly Community (SFC) Program. The winning Communities of Algoma, Eagle River, Hayward, St. Germain, Three Lakes, and Tomahawk, along with three counties: Bayfield, Iron, and Sawyer achieved their Snowmobile Friendly status by submitting a detailed, 21-page application describing how they and their snowmobile clubs advocate for safe and responsible snowmobiling in their areas. All SFC winners are awarded reflective, high-visibility, 24” x 36” highway signs to let all visitors know they are entering a “Snowmobile Friendly Community.”

Although created by the AWSC, the SFC Program partnered with the Wisconsin Department of Tourism to ensure the statewide SFC Evaluation Panel included a Tourism professional to ensure the Program accurately identified which communities and snowmobile clubs were “best” at welcoming, preserving, and providing snowmobile access, support, and services for snowmobilers. The SFC Award/Designation lasts for four years and communities may reapply for subsequent awards at the end of their term.

Annually, the AWSC’s Spring Convention serves as the final major snowmobiling event for the 600+ Wisconsin Snowmobile Clubs who create and maintain over 24,000 miles of public snowmobile trails in all 72 Wisconsin counties.

Keynote Speaker “Screaming Scott Eilertson,” former snowmobile dare-devil and leader of the 1990 Minnesota-Moscow Snowmobile Expedition, energized the attendees with a powerful, autobiographical speech sharing how his first experience on a snowmobile as a child fueled his passion to do something incredible on a snowmobile. He stressed how anyone’s dreams can be turned into reality by surrounding yourself with great people who share your passion, dedication, and fearlessness to overcome obstacles.

In addition to celebrating its 50th anniversary, the AWSC recognized multiple Snowmobile Clubs who also turned 50 in 2019. The prestigious “President’s Cup” was awarded to Ms Lori Pohl for her outstanding service as the AWSC’s Office Manager from 2008-2018. The Convention also included meetings and snowmobile briefings from the WI DNR and American Council of Snowmobile Associations (ACSA), all in an effort to continue to promote the expansion and education of responsible snowmobiling. The AWSC Scholarship program closed the Convention by awarding nine high school seniors with scholarships ranging from $300-$2,000.