The annual Algoma Area Chamber of Commerce business, industry and education awards – recently rechristened the Beacon Awards – were announced Wednesday (March 27).

Chamber Executive Director Sara Krouse announced the awards during an appearance on the WDOR radio Talk Show with Eddy Allen.

The Beacon Awards will be presented at a banquet scheduled for April 22 at the Hotel Stebbins.

Scenic Shore Inn, co-owned by Bob Davis, Laurie and Kristina Griffin, will receive the Business Award for its 2018 expansion that doubled the number of rooms and added a pool, sauna and deck.

Emily Rankin, a paraprofessional at Algoma schools, will be honored with the Education Award for her work with special-needs students.

A new award, the Lighthouse Award, goes to Abigail Robinson, an Algoma High School student, who created an after-school mentorship program where high school students work with elementary students to develop social skills, leadership skills among other assistance. The program already has 38 students, Krouse said.

Heidi Raak and her Yardstick Bookshop and Gallery will receive the Rising Star Award for new business.

β€œShe was a bookseller in Lawrence, Kansas, fell in love with Alhoms, sold the store there and started a bookstore here,” Krouse said. The shop at 317 Steele St. features a Letter Writing Club aimed at bringing back the spirit of writing personal letters.

Another new award is the Outstanding Employee Award, for a worker at a Chamber of Commerce member business. Seth Schroepfer, shop manage at CTI Hospitality, was nominated by his co-workers for the honor.