Two members of the Kewaunee County Board lost their seat to a challenger in the April 7 election, after the votes were counted Monday (April 13) following a court-ordered delay.

Milt Swagel defeated incumbent Supervisor Mary Ellen Dobbins by four votes, 130-126, in District 12 representing Ward 1 of the town of West Kewaunee.

Another incumbent, Tom Cretney, lost his seat to Jack Wochos in District 10 representing the town of Franklin. Wochos picked up 200 votes to Cretney’s 95.

Another incumbent, Daniel Olson, won a second two-year term on the County Board in District 6, picking up 144 votes to 79 for former supervisor Donna Thomas. The district includes Wards 1 and 2 in the village of Luxemburg.

In District 8, incumbent Supervisor Doug Doell defeated Frank Madzarevic 177-59, representing the village of Luxemburg Ward 3, town of Luxemburg Ward 3, and town of Montpelier Ward 3.

In a contest for an open seat in District 7, Timothy J. Kinnard picked up 179 votes to 121 for Lisa Cochart and will succeed Supervisor Charles Schmitt, representing Ward 2 in the village of Casco.

Registered write-in candidate Matthew Piesler earned 11 of the 12 votes cast in District 5, village of Luxemburg Wards 4 and 5, where no one was on the ballot. Piesler will succeed Supervisor Kent Treml, who was the top write-in in a similar situation two years ago.

Swagel, Wochos, Kinnard and Piesler will be among eight new faces on the 20-member County Board. Running unopposed were Nicholas Guilette (District 2, town of Lincoln), Doak Baker (District 4, towns of Luxemburg and Red River), Jeffrey Vollenweider (District 18, city of Kewaunee and town of Pierce), and Joanne Lazansky (District 20, city of Kewaunee). They will succeed Supervisors Cory Cochart, Robert Weidner, Lee Luft, and Kaye Shillin, respectively.

Running unopposed for re-election were Supervisors Gerald Paape, Chuck Wagner, Scott Jahnke, Aaron Augustian, Kim Kroll, Tom Romdenne, Linda Teske, Virginia Haske, Joe Lukes, and John Mastalir.

go source site cialis gassville term paper nursing follow link fish in relation to pollution hypothesis click here write my master's essay click here speech writing services online viagra repeat dose levitra waynesville click here writing soap web service java research papers in english for specific purposes click here putting together a business plan herbal viagra dubai assingment com buy valtrex online without a prescription essay on womens buy essays online Around the county

Most city and village candidates were unopposed, except in the village of Casco, where Timothy Kinnard (122 votes) and Francis Gilson (109) were elected to two slots on the Village Board, and Chad Cochart (82) finished third.

Wayne Schmidt was unopposed for re-election as mayor of Algoma, and Alderman Jason Jelinek was the only candidate for mayor of Kewaunee, succeeding Sandi Christman.


In the statewide race, incumbent Supreme Court Justice Daniel Kelly won Kewaunee County but appeared to be on his way to a defeat at the hands of Dane County Circuit Judge Jill Karofsky. The local tally was Kelly 3,044 (56.5%), Karofsky 2,343 (43.5%), but Karofsky’s statewide total was about 53%.

Former vice president Joe Biden won the Democratic Party primary over Sen. Bernie Sanders and a group of candidates who were on the ballot but no longer campaigning actively. The Kewaunee County numbers were Biden 1,762, Sanders 589, Michael Bloomberg 49, Elizabeth Warren 27, Tulsi Gabbard 23, Amy Klobuchar 18, Pete Buttigieg 16, Andrew Yang 9, Tom Steyer 7, John Delaney 4, Deval Patrick 3, and Michael Bennet 1. Twelve Democrats voted for an uninstructed delegation.

President Donald Trump was essentially unopposed in the Republican primary. No one in Kewaunee County voted for registered write-in candidate Adam Nicholas Paul, and local voters gave Trump 2,823 votes to 28 for an uninstructed delegation.

The state constitutional amendment dubbed “Marsy’s Law,” presented as an expansion of crime victims’ rights, passed by a 3-to-1 margin across the state, and Kewaunee County figures reflected that with 4,120 yes votes to 1,179 no.