Five members of the Kewaunee County Board have now filed declarations of non-candidacy in advance of the April 3 election, according to an update from County Clerk Jamie Annoye on Monday afternoon.

Candidates have until 5 p.m. Jan. 2 to submit their nomination papers to get on the April ballot, and incumbents have until 5 p.m. this Friday to let the public and potential candidates know they won’t be seeking re-election.

The open seats thus far are those now held by:

Larry Kirchman, District 2, representing the town of Lincoln;

Christopher Rasmussen, District 5, village of Luxemburg Wards 4 and 5;

Dennis Cravillion, District 7, town of Casco Ward 2 and village of Casco Ward 1;

Ron Paider, District 10, town of Franklin; and

Linda Sinkula, District 11, town of Carlton.

Except for Supervisor John Pagel in District 12 (town of Casco Ward 1, town of West Kewaunee Ward 2, and town of Luxemburg Ward 1), the other board members have all indicated they plan to run again, although many have yet to file completed nomination papers.

A number of candidates have emerged to challenge incumbents or run for open seats. Three people have declared in District 2, which would require a Feb. 20 primary if all file completed papers: Cory Cochart, Joseph Musial and Mark Kusniesz.

Frank Madzarevic has filed papers and will challenge Supervisor Douglas Doell in District 8, representing the town of Luxemburg Ward 3, village of Luxemburg Ward 3 and town of Montpelier Ward 3.

Milton Swagel has filed papers to challenge Supervisor Mary Ellen Dobbins in Ward 12, representing the town of West Kewaunee Ward 1. Two years ago in 2016, Dobbins defeated former County Board Chairman Ron Heuer in the only race among the 20 districts.

Richard Schleis and Aaron Augustian have filed declarations of candidacy for the open District 11 seat.