Luxemburg-Casco earned a No. 2 seed and first-round bye in Division 2 of the Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association girls basketball playoffs, which started Tuesday.

The Spartans (19-3) tied for second place in the North Eastern Conference, with two of their three losses coming to first-place Wrightstown. The other loss was to Freedom, which shared second place in the NEC and split the season series with L-C.

Green Bay Southwest (13-10) advanced to the second round and a date at Luxemburg-Casco High School by defeating Menasha 58-28 on Tuesday. The regional semifinal is 7 p.m. Friday, Feb. 24, at L-C.

Packerland Conference champion Kewaunee (19-4) was assigned a No. 3 seed in the Division 3 tournament. The Storm opened the post-season with a 72-36 double-up over New Holstein on Tuesday night.

Coach Lynn Geier’s team ended Algoma’s 10-year reign as Packerland champs, with a 47-44 decision at second-place Southern Door its only conference loss. The other three defeats were to schools from larger divisions, including a two-point loss on Luxemburg-Casco’s court.

The Storm hosts Oostburg (15-2) at 7 p.m. Friday, Feb. 24, in regional semi-final action.

The Wolves (10-13) played a tough nonconference schedule and finished in third place in league play with a 9-5 record. Algoma opened the Division 4 tournament by handling Weyauwega-Fremont 55-20.

Coach Jeff Zastrow loaded the schedule with games against teams like De Pere and Green Bay Preble from Division 1, Ashwaubenon and Pulaski from Division 2.

Algoma, which received a No. 7 seed, travels to No. 2 Reedsville (14-8) for the regional semi-final.

The boys basketball brackets were released Monday. The playoffs begin Tuesday, Feb. 28.

In Division 2, Luxemburg-Casco (18-3) earned a No. 2 seed and will host the winner of Green Bay Southwest vs. Menasha on March 3.

Kewaunee (2-19) received a No. 14 seed in Division 3 and will open the playoffs at No. 3 Southern Door.

Algoma (12-9) is a No. 2 seed in Division 4 and will host a regional semi-final March 3 against the winner of Gibraltar vs. Reedsville.