Tickets are on sale for the Build the Future Foundation banquet inducting this year’s four additions to the Kewaunee High School Wall of Fame.

Dennis and Deb Shimanek, Jeff Kassner and Tom Kleiman are being honored as the foundation hosts its annual Wall of Fame banquet to honor four outstanding graduates of Kewaunee High School

The banquet is scheduled for Sunday evening, April 9, at J W’s Place in Slovan (rural Casco). Tickets are $30 and are available from Nicolet Bank, Bank of Luxemburg, the Novak Agency, or any Build the Future Foundation member.

As is the custom, the honorees will be introduced in separate news stories. This is the second of four articles.

Deborah (Richmond) Shimanek

Deborah graduated from Kewaunee High School in 1976. She participated in numerous activities while at KHS: Theater, AFS, Ski Club, Science Club, Voice of Democracy, and varsity cheerleading. Deborah was awarded the Betty Crocker Award her senior year, and graduated in the top 10 percent of her class.

After graduation, Deborah enrolled at the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay, where she graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree in human development/elementary education. Deb continued her education at Cardinal Stritch University where she obtained her master’s in educational leadership.

Deborah has been an educator for more than 36 years. She began her teaching career at Holy Rosary, where she taught elementary students from 1980-1988. In 1988 Deb accepted a special education teaching position at the Kewaunee School District, where she taught until 2001.

In 2001 she was granted the opportunity to become an assistant principal at Dickinson School in De Pere. She remained in that role until 2004, when she became principal at Stangel Elementary School in Manitowoc. Deb was principal at Stangel until 2013, when she was hired as director of education for the Manitowoc Public School District, a role she continues to fulfill today.

In 2014 Deborah received the “Education Impact Award” from the Chamber of Manitowoc County. This award is recognition of an exceptionally dedicated educator who impacts parents, students or beyond the school or classroom while integrating business and community resources to enhance student learning opportunities.

Deborah has been a committed educator for 36 years, and has always emphasized “learning for all.”

Outside of her career, Deborah is a member of many organizations. She has been involved with Build the Future and The Kewaunee Golf Challenge since they were established more than 15 years ago; she has been on the board of directors for the YMCA since 2014. Deborah also been a member of the Kewaunee Optimists since 2007, she is the current president and secretary of the Manitowoc Optimists, a role she has held for five years.

Deborah is an active member of Community Congregational Church in Kewaunee, where she has served as moderator, deacon, Sunday School coordinator, and VBS coordinator.

Dennis has been married to Deborah since 1978. They have two children, Denny and Shaun. Denny and his wife, Samantha, have three children, Abby, Hailey and Devin. Shaun and her husband, Jacob, also have three children, Conner, Ellianna and Noah.