The race for mayor of the city of Kewaunee may be the highest profile contest in Tuesday’s spring election, but the makeover of the Kewaunee County Board may have the greatest impact.

The board will have at least six new faces and could have as many as 11 when it meets for its organizational session April 24.

+ Mayor Sandi Christman will be running for her second term Tuesday, challenged by a young man who would be among the state’s youngest mayors should he prevail. James Kleiman III is a Kewaunee High School grad who expects to earn his diploma in accounting from St. Norbert College this spring.

There is one other contested race, in the 1st Aldermanic District, where incumbent Jason Jelinek is challenged by Jeffrey Vollenweider.

In District 2, Alderman Diane Jirtel did not run for re-election, and the ballot will be blank because no one filed nomination papers by the Jan. 2 deadline. Alison Smith is a registered write-in candidate.

Incumbent Janita Zimmerman is unopposed in District 3, and Daniel Stangel is running without opposition for the District 4 seat being relinquished by Don Kickbusch.

+ Five incumbent County Board supervisors face opposition Tuesday.

Supervisor Lee Luft, chairman of the board’s Finance Committee and the now-defunct Groundwater Task Force, faces a brisk challenge from Jeff Cmejla, owner of Jeff’s Sports Bar & Grill in Alaska, for the seat representing ward 1 of the town of Pierce and ward 1 of the city of Kewaunee.

Supervisor Donna Thomas is challenged by Daniel A. Olson for wards 1 and 2 in the village of Luxemburg.

Incumbent Doug Doell in Luxemburg village ward 3 and the town of Montpelier’s 3rd ward faces Frank Madzarevic.

Pat Benes, who represents ward 2 of the town of Pierce and ward 3 of the town of Casco, is challenged by Joseph Lukes.

And Mary Ellen Dobbins, who two years ago defeated then-County Board Chairman Ron Heuer in the only 2016 race, is opposed byy Milton Swagel in the town of West Kewaunee, ward 1.

Five other supervisors – Dennis Cravillion, Larry Kirchman, Ron Paider, Christopher Rasmussen, and Linda Sinkula – decided not to run for re-election, and Supervisor John Pagel died in a Feb. 22 private plane crash.

No one is on the ballot in Rasmussen’s district, wards 4 and 5 of the village of Luxemburg, or Pagel’s district, which covers the town of Casco ward 1, town of West Kewaunee ward 2, and town of Luxemburg ward 1.

The seat will be offered to the top write-ins in those districts, but if they choose not to accept, the County Board will appoint someone.

There are races for the other four outgoing incumbents’ seats.

In District 2 (the town of Lincoln), Cory Cochart faces Mark Kusniesz.

District 7 (town of Casco ward 2, village of Casco ward 1) has Kenneth Secor against Charles Schmitt.

District 10 (town of Franklin) will see a race between John Wochos and Thomas Cretney.

District 11 (town of Carlton, wards 1-2) pits Richard Schleis and Aaron Augustian.

Nine supervisors are running without opposition:Virginia Haske, Scott Jahnke, John Mastilir, Gerald Paape, Tom Romdenne, Kaye Shillin, Linda Teske, Charles Wagner, and incumbent Chairman Robert Weidner.

+ Voters in the Luxemburg-Casco School District are being asked to approve two referendum questions: One would authorize up to $15.9 in additions and remodeling to the primary, intermediate and high schools, and the other would build a new middle school for up to $11.9 million.

They’ll also be picking two School Board members from a field of three – incumbent Cary DeQuaine and challengers Robin Richard and David Delain.

+ Four candidates are running for three seats on the Luxemburg Village Board. Michael Bonk is seeking a position along with incumbents Dan Olson, Dan Porath and Sue Raduenz.

+ The city of Algoma also has a blank spot on the ballot in the 2nd Aldermanic District. Janice Mueller is not seeking re-election, so the seat will be offered to the top write-in.