Voters go to the polls Tuesday (April 2) to choose a successor to Wisconsin Supreme Court Justice Shirley Abrahamson as well as a variety of city council, village, town and school board races.

Appeals court judges Brian Hagedorn and Lisa Neubauer square off in the only statewide race. A scattering of local races will be decided in Kewaunee County.

There are races for town chairman in West Kewaunee, where Milt Swagel and Dan Kassner will vie for the seat now held by Tom Kruse, and Luxemburg, where incumbent David Barrett is challenged by Roger Berger. Eight other town chairmen are running unopposed for re-election.

In the town of Lincoln, Jordan Nowak is challenging incumbent Supervisor 1 Nick Cochart. Luxemburg Town Clerk Marilyn Barrett is not running for re-election; Amanda Nimmer and Jennifer Rank will vie to succeed her.

All other positions are uncontested. In some cases the incumbent is not running again and only one person stepped forward for the post; in other cases the ballot position will be vacant and the job will be offered to the person who gains the most write-in votes. That’s the case for two of the three open positions on the Kewaunee School Board.

Incumbent Deanne M. Schultz is running unopposed for re-election to a seat representing unincorporated areas, but no candidates stepped up for an open seat representing the city or an open at-large seat. Only Schultz is on the ballot in April. Kassner is not running for re-election to the board because of his town chairman race, and another seat was left vacant when the incumbent resigned late last year.

Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.