Municipal clerks around the state, having finished their work on the Nov. 6 election, have taken a deep breath and are now hard at work on the spring election.

The April 2 ballot will have candidates for justice of the state Supreme Court, succeeding Shirley Abrahamson who has already announced her noncandidacy. Appeals Court Judge Lisa Stark is up for re-election in the only other race affecting the entire county.

Town, village and city officers and school board members are also to be decided. If there are more than two candidates for any position, a primary will be scheduled for Feb. 19.

Candidates may begin circulating nomination papers this Saturday, Dec. 1. Completed forms with signatures must be submitted to the appropriate municipal clerk by 5 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 2.

An incumbent who decides not to run for re-election needs to file a declaration of noncandidacy by 5 p.m. Dec. 21, to give potential candidates time to circulate papers. If a candidate doesn’t file a declaration and chooses not to run, the deadline for submitting completed papers is extended by 72 hours.

All 10 towns in Kewaunee County will be electing town boards and other officers to two-year terms.

In the city of Kewaunee, the terms of Alderpersons Art Schiller, Jeff Dworak, John Griffith and David Kuehl are expiring.

City of Algoma residents will also be choosing half of their city council. The seats now held by Bruce Charles, Jacque Wiese, Mitchell Groessl and Lee Dachelet will be on the ballot.

Luxemburg Village President Ken Tebon and Casco Village President Kelly Pinchart are up for re-election. In Casco, trustees Troy Alsteen and Dennis Cravillion’s terms are up, and in Luxemburg, the seats now held by Lori Bonk, Jack Seidl and Michelle Seidl are on the ballot.

School board members whose three-year terms expire in April:

Algoma – Barbara Rodgers, Joann Wiesner

Kewaunee – Dan Kassner, Robin Kinn, Deanne Schultz

Luxemburg-Casco – Mike Driedric, Linda Jonet