Who won Game of the Year 2023?

In the world of video games, 2023 was a year of innovation, creativity, and fierce competition. From the Golden Joystick Awards to the Game Developers Choice Awards, the year was filled with remarkable achievements that pushed the boundaries of interactive entertainment.

The Golden Joystick Awards, one of the most prestigious events in the gaming industry, crowned ‘Baldur’s Gate 3’ as the Game of the Year. This title, developed by Larian Studios, was lauded for its immersive storytelling, complex characters, and innovative gameplay mechanics.

Meanwhile, the Gamescom Awards saw Nintendo’s ‘Legends of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom’ take the top prize. This latest installment in the beloved Zelda series was praised for its expansive world, engaging narrative, and refined gameplay.
The BAFTA Game Awards 2023 took an unexpected turn when ‘Vampire Survivors’, a game developed by an indie studio, beat out competition from multi-million pound blockbusters to win the Best Game award. This victory underscored the growing influence of indie games in the industry.

‘Elden Ring’, developed by FromSoftware and published by Bandai Namco Entertainment, won the Game of the Year at the 2023 Game Developers Choice Awards. This action role-playing game was celebrated for its intricate world design, challenging combat, and deep lore.

What is the Golden Joystick Awards?
The Golden Joystick Awards is an annual awards ceremony that recognizes outstanding creative and technical achievements in the video game industry. The awards are voted on by the general public, and the winners are announced at a live ceremony.

What is the Gamescom Awards?
The Gamescom Awards are presented annually at the Gamescom video game trade fair in Cologne, Germany. The awards recognize excellence in various categories, including best console game, best mobile game, and best PC game.

What is the BAFTA Game Awards?
The BAFTA Game Awards is an annual British awards ceremony that honors outstanding creative achievement in the video game industry. The awards are presented by the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA).

What is the Game Developers Choice Awards?
The Game Developers Choice Awards is an annual awards ceremony produced by the Game Developers Conference (GDC). It recognizes the best games of the year, as voted on by game developers.

What is ‘Baldur’s Gate 3’?
‘Baldur’s Gate 3’ is a role-playing game developed by Larian Studios. It is the third installment in the ‘Baldur’s Gate’ series and features a rich narrative, complex characters, and strategic combat.

What is ‘Legends of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom’?
‘Legends of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom’ is an action-adventure game developed and published by Nintendo. It is part of the ‘Legend of Zelda’ series and offers players an expansive world to explore, filled with puzzles, enemies, and quests.

What is ‘Vampire Survivors’?
‘Vampire Survivors’ is an indie game that combines elements of action, survival, and roguelike gameplay. Despite its small development team, the game has gained a significant following for its addictive gameplay and unique mechanics.

What is ‘Elden Ring’?
‘Elden Ring’ is an action role-playing game developed by FromSoftware and published by Bandai Namco Entertainment. The game is known for its challenging combat, intricate world design, and deep lore.